Of essays and packing lists

Received a msg from the twin saying “thanks for the essay of a packing list” last nite…. and I was like “Essay?!!?”

In retrospect, maybe I should have gotten to the point… b…b…bu…but I tend to rattle off what is in my mind… and I find it absolutely necessary to explain why.

So, tell me… wouldn’t this (ref below) be more fun to read than….

What to bring: 1,2,3…. 

What not to bring: 1,2,3… 

~The End~

Dear Pinky & Brain,

Because I don’t want both of you to fall sick while here to visit… here’s a little weather update.

It is estimated that the temperature from Nov 13-18 is approximately MINUS ONE to 9 or 10. To further clarify, means in the DAY… AFTERNOON… it will hardly go above 10 degrees celsius. I reckon it should be about 6-10 degrees in the day and potentially 0-3 (or lower) at night

Because you cannot agar what is 6-10 degrees… think REFRIGERATOR. Not Freezer. Just Refrigerator. Something like that….

If there is no wind, it should be quite alright… ie, tolerable. BUT in the event that there is wind, it will be cold….

Hence…

1. A scarf is a must. And it’s not the heow type of scarf hor… ie, filmsy thin wispy glamourous type – Read: HERMES silk scarf is a no. Ref to attachment for an idea of a scarf you need to bring (of cos i will not discourage you if you want to bring the knit type).

2. Open-toed shoes are discouraged…so don’t bother about bringing slippers here. No casual-lets-wear-slippers-out opportunities. Sneakers are actually ok… canvas shoes are not really ok cos there’s no way it traps heat. Boots are actually a plus… But please make sure you bring boots that you can walk in. (Ref: Pinky, u know I am referring to you right?)

3. Bring a couple of pairs of socks please. I have a washing machine so you can wash. And no worries. Things dry DAMN fast in winter. IF all else fails, I also have socks.

4. U can always layer your clothes if it gets colder than you expected…. Long johns are not needed. Because it will get annoyingly hot indoors – Beijing has heaters and according to my colleagues, it should start on the 15th of Nov (ie, u might potentially freeze a little indoors for 2 days). I recommend that you bring at least 1 set of the Uniqlo heat tech top and leggings if you have (to wear below your regular clothes). They are quite thin and works well. Prices of uniqlo in SG and in BJ are about the same…. so you can buy them in SG. But don’t overdo the shopping (Ref: Pinky, u know I am referring to you right?).

5. Winter jacket is necessary. Ie, Not the jersey adiddas type. I heard that the ultralight down jackets from Uniqlo are actually NOT very useful but should be ok for mid nov period. Like I said, just layer inside if needed. Don’t go panic shopping before you come (Ref: Pinky, u know I am referring to you right?) because you can do the shopping here in China.

If necessary, we can head over to the zoo first thing on 14th Nov morning to buy stuff first.

6. Don’t need to bring those little pocket heat packs. I have some and it’s cheaper to buy here really. :p

7. Gloves would be good if you don’t wanna hide your hands in your pockets all day.

8. Beanies are good to have as well. Don’t need ear muffs. I know you might be dying to launch the hello kitty/my little pony/my melody set that whoever gave you… but nope, NOT that cold.

9. Pinky – bring antihistamines. You might need… cos there’s often changes in temperature (ie, indoors and outdoors).

10. Pls also bring a set of long sleeves, long pants for sleep. Shorts and T-shirts will only apply after 15th Nov when the heater is up.

11. Moisturiser is a must. But if you are willing to use my jergens… then don’t bring.

12. Lip balm is a must. Don’t hero. As it is, normally Beijing is really drier than you think it is. Winter will be worse.

On the side, please note that I have toothpaste, toothbrushes, shampoo and conditioner, shower foam. Basically, the necessities. So, don’t need to bring… that is unless you die die must use your own.

That’s about it I think.

Please feel free to watsapp me any other queries.

Love you both,
Ewey