Golden Week in China – The After

I survived.

Golden Week – 人人人人人人没风景人人人人人人 (read: many people-no scenery-many people)

And that’s just one of the sights @ 南锣鼓巷 (Nanluoguxiang).

Despite it all, I had the time of my life… I didn’t realise how much I really missed my mum and sis untill i saw them.

Anyway, Golden Week in China was crazy. EVERYWHERE was crowded…. and i mean CROWDED.

However, IF you really need to be in China during this week, let me leave you with some tips on Surviving China Golden Week 101.

1. Do not come during this week. :p

2. Okkkkkkk, IF u need to… then, please avoid the touristy sightseeing spots on the first few days. In fact, DAY 1 – 4. Do everything else first…. such as shopping or eating. Even though I still stick to the “Do Not Come to China during Golden Week” logic. (ref to picture above and picture below)

throngs and throngs of human beings

Pst: Remember to ask carefully when inquiring about the price of the food. Sis got fleeced off S$30 for a stupid stick of deep fried soft shell crabs. 

Sis asked how much it was, they told her ¥50. When paying for a stick of it (3 small tiny crabs in total), they demanded ¥150 – ¥50 each. I had a little quarreling match with them but paid up anyway. Did not want to get beaten up (this kind of place… sure got mafia!). 

3. Avoid cabbing because most roads are jammed. Take the metro where possible. Why?

this is why

4. Great Wall – Book a car for a day to go to the Great Wall. I booked mine for about ¥800. If you wanna self-drive, that is fine too but I suggest you get one with a driver. Locals knows the roads better. Avoid Badaling stretch – news report said the daily count of tourist for that stretch was 80K.

Great wall of people

Advice – Go to Mutianyu.

I went to the Mutianyu Great Wall on the 4th Oct. It was actually quite crowded but it wasn’t that bad… Try to get there early too. We left the house at 8am, got there at 10am.

See, you still can get shots without other people in it!

5. Peking Duck is a must. There are loads of places with Peking Duck… To me, it is not really necessary to go to the super popular ones like QuanJuDe. Generally, it’s already a delicacy in itself. Try eating the special version where they actually provide sugar. Dip the pure skin pieces into the sugar and eat it. MELTS.IN.YOUR.MOUTH. *slurp*

“Food art”

6. Be adventurous when it comes to food…. Order local food like the tomato and egg (西红柿炒蛋), and everything else. BUT try not to eat the street food unless u have a super strong tummy. As with everything in China, be careful. It might not be the meat that you think it is.

Clockwise: Black bean fish tossed salad, tomato eggs, stewed pork with chestnuts, kungpao chicken

Or you can be like my sis… snack on everything!

Meet Greedy. 🙂

7. Visit the Summer Palace – Despite what every one says. It may be “just a garden” but it’s one hell of a garden!

Why the emperors need a 390 hectare place to spend the summer is beyond me….

Ok, that’s pretty much it for the tips.

Other than that, I’m a pretty happy girl because mum brought me loads of stuff from home. I had yummy mooncakes from Goodwood Park (and an angry bird lantern), premixes, fishcake, and even meepok! *bliss*

happiness to last me awhile… 🙂

So, that’s it for a little update and etc….

Note to self: Run away from China next year from Oct 1st to Oct 7th. *shudder*